/* CSS added by WP Meta and Date Remover*/.entry-meta {display:none !important;} .home .entry-meta { display: none; } .entry-footer {display:none !important;} .home .entry-footer { display: none; }

July 1, 2020 (Ann Arbor, MI) —The Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra is pleased to announce and welcome three new members to its Board of Directors. Additionally, two current board members will step into executive board leadership positions. Constance Bridges will assume the role of Vice President of Development and Jeffrey McKelvey will serve as Vice President of Education.

Joining the Board of Directors are André Dowell, Rosalie Koenig, and Daniel Clark. “In addition to embodying the spirit of the A2SO as devout music lovers, our three new board members bring a wealth of experience and expertise to our team in music education, arts leadership, and financial management.” said A2SO Executive Director Tyler Rand. “We are very fortunate to have them by our side as we navigate the current global situation and fulfill our mission of fostering a growing appreciation for orchestral music by inspiring and educating a diverse audience.”

“I am thrilled to welcome our three new board members. Each of them brings a passion for music and a unique talent to our organization.” said A2SO Board President Geoff Barnes. “Daniel Clark’s financial expertise and life-long commitment to music and music education makes him a perfect addition to our organization as treasurer. Rosalie Koenig has been serving our organization on the education committee, drawing on a career as an Ann Arbor Public School music teacher. She will continue to help guide us in our educational activities, especially during the COVID-19 era. André Dowell has deep Ann Arbor roots and will help to strengthen our commitment to showcasing diverse artists and composers. I am certain that these three will make lasting impressions on the A2SO organization.”

André Dowell is a strategic arts administrator and thought leader who helps drive national programming and conversations around diversity in classical music. He currently serves as Chief of Artist Engagement for the Sphinx Organization, the nation’s leading arts organization dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts.

Beyond his role at Sphinx, André is committed to building a thriving national arts community through a growing roster of speaking engagements and external leadership roles. He has been invited to address audiences at training centers including Interlochen Center for the Arts, the University of Tennessee at Martin, Lindenwood University, the University of Toledo, and the University of Denver.

Driven by a passion for music that crystallized in the Southern Black Baptist Church and school ensembles, he would complete Bachelor and Master of Music degrees in Percussion Performance at the University of Michigan. André resides in Ann Arbor, Michigan with his wife, daughter, and son, along with an expertly curated collection of bowties.

CPA Daniel Clark leads annual audit and single audit engagements for a multitude of governmental and not-for-profit clients throughout Michigan and Ohio. With a concentration on serving the public sector, Daniel spends a significant amount of time onsite at clients’ locations, developing an understanding of their operations. He serves on Rehmann’s government audit quality control subcommittee, ensuring compliance with technical standards and Firm-wide consistency. Daniel received his B.S. in Accounting from Bob Jones University.

Rosalie Koenig has been an Elementary Music Teacher at Ann Arbor Public Schools for over 28 years. Additionally, she has been closely involved with the A2SO as a member of the education committee. Outside of serving the A2SO and devoting her career as an educator in the Ann Arbor Public School system, Rosalie has also spearheaded grant funded projects to supply children with appropriate sized instruments to begin on.


The 2020-2021 A2SO Executive Board Members are: Artistic Advisor, Aaron Berofsky; President, Geoffrey D. Barnes; First Vice President, Carol A. Sewell; Secretary, Steven E. Gerber; Treasurer, Daniel Clark; Past President, Richard D. Hendricks; Artistic Affairs, Roderick Little; Development, Constance A. Bridges; Education & Engagement, Jeffrey S. McKelvey; Finance & Budget, Daniel Clark; Marketing, Sarah L. Bishara; Policy, Martha A. Darling; Special Events, Lesa Huget.

The 2020-2021 A2SO Board of Directors are: Jon Beebe, Constance A. Bridges, Daniel Clark, André Dowell, James B. Froehlich, Sylvia M. Funk, J. Robert Gates, Julie Gates, David A. Gier, Ariel Halpern, J. Lawrence Henkel, David J. Herzig, Henry Johnson, Kristine Kerns, Rosalie Koenig, Brigitte A. Maassen, Jeffrey S. McKelvey, Jane Arvidson Panikkar, Tejal Patel, Steven C. Pierce, Barbara Sturgis-Everett, Darcel Tolle, Elisabeth Vanderpool, Jane Wilkinson, and Remedios Montalbo Young.